Weekly Photo Challenge: Unfocused.

The post that almost wasn’t.

I don’t know who comes up with the themes for these challenges, but this was another week that I had almost given up on. I was drawing a complete and total blank. But, I knew I had to have at least one “unfocused” photograph :-D

Soft and…Creepy?

Spiders fascinate me, but they also kind of freak me out.

I came across this black and yellow beauty one day while blindly chasing monarch butterflies. And by “came across” I mean almost walked right into it!

I have several versions of the spider, but this “unfocused” one is my favorite.

61 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Unfocused.

    • By the way, I found this a tough challenge, too, because the premise of my blog is posting images I like, rather than blurred rejects I hadn’t deleted yet.
       
      Thanks again for sharing this unique interpretation of unfocused.

    • Thank you, and I here ya. Fortunately it’s been my experience that the big scary ones build there webs about waist level and lower. If I ever got one of these on my face I’d still be screaming :-D

  1. ICK! Jeff, it figures that even if the subject is out of focus, you still give us something both totally gorgeous and thoroughly creepy!

    By the way…don’t you love how the most mild-mannered person turns into a total ninja the second they walk into a spider web?

    • You know it! I was nonchalantly walking through the field of tall grass chasing butterflies, when I saw the web out of the corner of my eye. Then I looked a little closer and saw the owner/builder of the web. That was the end of the nonchalant stroll through the field!

      • Oh yea, I forget to add, “Good day my butt,” don’t forget, I follow your blog and I see your wonderful macro images! When it comes to macro shots of bugs, I bet you delete better images than I keep!

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Unfocused | Wind Against Current

  3. I like this photo. A lot of bloggers used this challenge to showcase pictures that never should have been public. Your photo doesn’t fit into that category.
    The spider looks poisonous. The colours of it seems like natures way to say: “Don’t touch me!”

    • Thanks a lot! I don’t have any of those photos. Not because I don’t take any, but they don’t make it through Lightroom’s import process. Out of focus is almost always the kiss of death for a photo for me. This is the one exception.

      Technically, I think all spiders are venomous, but most aren’t harmful to us. This one was big enough that it wouldn’t need to be poisonous to kill me :-D

  4. Pingback: Unfocused (Weekly Photo Challenge) « Cardinal Guzman

  5. Great entry for this weeks challenge! Good thing, you did not actually walk into it – wouldn’t have been a very delightful experience for you and we would have miss out on this truly great picture!

    • Thank you! It is the only out of focus photo I have. Most aren’t spared the delete key, if they even make it past the import process. Considering the subject, and for artistic reasons, I think this one is much nicer than the few I have of her that are sharper.

  6. Pingback: Weekly photo challenge (Unfocused) « Stumbling towards…

  7. I stepped away for a few days and have so much to catch up on. Spiders are the one animal that really gives me the heebie jeebies, and these golden orb weavers are #1 on my list. Mainly because this is the one spider I always end up walking into unknowingly. They are remarkable and I have faced my fears by photographing them before. They don’t show up here until around August. I love the PP here and the “unfocused.” It has an “under water” feel to me even though it is green.

  8. For a picture of something I hate more than anything in the world, it’s a beautiful shot! Funny thing, tarantulas don’t bother me a bit, but spiders make me want to die inside :)

  9. Thanks Stephanie. If I had actually walked through the web, instead of only coming very close to walking through it, you would have heard me freaking out from your house. It would not have been pretty, not pretty at all! :-D

Comments and thoughtful critiques are always welcome.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,892 other followers

