Falling Water In Pinkham Notch.

 

thompson_falls_fan_3248-Edit

 

This past weekend I explored Thompson Falls for the first time. Had I known how beautiful this waterfall is I would have made a point of photographing here sooner. Located a short hike from the parking lot at the Wildcat ski area in Pinkham Notch, this is definitely one of the nicest waterfalls in the White Mountains.

More a series of falls rather than one single plunge, Thompson Falls seemed to go on and on. The higher I climbed the more there was to see. Give me a drizzly overcast day and I could easily spend 4-5 hours here photographing. Sadly, I had to cut this first visit short on account of darkness, but I have every intention of returning soon.

Horsetail, Thompson Falls, NH

These images are but a small sample of what this series of waterfalls has to offer. With the relative ease of the hike to get here I will certainly be adding this to the itinerary of upcoming waterfall workshops.

thompson_falls_looking_down_3265-Edit

For those interested in knowing, all of these images were captured using my Fujifilm X-T2 camera with the wonderful XF10-24mm lens. For all of the images I used Formatt-Hitech Firecrest filters, a circular polarizer as well as a 4-stop ND filter, all mounted in the Firecrest 100 filter holder.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Falling Water In Pinkham Notch.

    • Had it not been getting dark I would have continued climbing up the falls as far as I could go. Fortunately I’ll be up there again this coming weekend with a private workshop client. I plan to allot plenty of time to explore. If we’re fortunate enough to have an overcast and drizzly day we could easily spend an entire day here.

Comments and thoughtful critiques are always welcome.

