WPC: Reflecting

Refelcting Sunrise

Sunrise Reflection. Hampton Beach, NH

Fujifilm X-T2, XF10-24, 10mm, f/11, ISO 200, 0.4 seconds.

Additionally I used a Haida 3-stop neutral density filter to slow the shutter speed a bit in combination with a Singh Ray 2-stop reverse graduated neutral density filter to help balance the sky with the darker foreground. To keep the filters in place I used a Formatt-Hitech Firecrest 100 filter holder.

Of course the camera was securely mounted on a tripod.

(Links are provided for your convenience, I have no affiliation with the companies mentioned)

Go HERE for more interpretations of Reflecting.

4 thoughts on “WPC: Reflecting

  1. Sweet to get that much dynamic range in one exposure. Nice composition. I feel like I am standing there. Those clouds combined with the low tide look like this past Saturday morning (5/13). I was at the opposite end of the coast at Fort Stark at 4:45am! The tide pools there are full and with the calm conditions provided great reflection photo opportunities. After sunrise, I drove back down the coast. I could see the opportunities on Wallis Sands for some great reflection compositions off the beach, but by then the sun was too high, the tide was coming in and dozens of people were out with their dogs enjoying the morning walk.

    • The use of filters really helps. A few years ago I was going back and forth over whether to use filters in the field or digitally. I find, especially now that I’ve switched to the Fujifilm X-Series of cameras that in the field works best for me.

      Of course filters are just one more addition expense, but for me the less time I have to spend behind the computer the better.

Comments and thoughtful critiques are always welcome.

