Weekly Photo Challenge: Details

pink_water_lily_close_up_5948

To capture the details it pays to get close.

Among the many water lilies covering the waters surface I knew this was the one. Since It was raining the morning I took this I knew I wanted to get close in order to capture not only the detail in the flower, but to accentuate the raindrops on each petal.

For this shot I had to wade out into the water almost waist deep, not an uncommon occurance, and set up my camera and tripod directly over and looking down on the flower.

Then came what may be the most difficult part of photographing water lilies up close and personal like this. And that is standing still, very still. Because even the slightest movement on my part would cause ripples on the waters surface which would then impart movement in the flower.

For this shot I use my Canon 5D MkIII with the Canon 70-200 F/2.8L IS II with a 25mm extension tube between the camera and lens, which allowed me to achieve a much closer focus than I otherwise would using just the camera and lens.

Camera Settings: F/16, 175mm, ISO 400 for 1/50 sec.

Click here to see more Weekly Photo Challenge: Details

11 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Details

    • Thank you Laura. Being stuck with a full time job that really only allows me to get out on the weekends, I wasn’t about to let a little rain keep me from going out. Of course I was already standing almost waist deep in the water, so it’s not like the rain was going to get me that much wetter ๐Ÿ™‚

        • It’s the same way with my waterfall photos, a good many of them anyway. It’s not an illusion it appears the photos was taken from in the water below the falls. I assure you I was. Most people would indeed photograph water lilies or waterfalls while standing nice and dry on the bank of the pond or stream. I want my photos to be a little different and to offer a different point of view.

Comments and thoughtful critiques are always welcome.

