The Reward As Orange Fades To Blue.

Winter Light.

The view at 4,802′.

moosilauke_summit_winter_0724-Edit

There are 48 peaks on the official list of New Hampshire summits with an elevation of over 4,000 feet. Mount Moosilauke is #10 on that list. “The Moose,” is also the western most peak to be included on the list, and one I had yet to climb.

My reward for the effort, a snowshoe hike on a gorgeous brilliant winter afternoon under a clear blue sky, was to watch the sun as it set over windswept mountains and a moonlit hike back to the car.

As orange,

Winter Sunset, Mount Moosilauke

fades to blue.

Capturing Sunset, Photographer On Mt. Moosilauke

27 thoughts on “The Reward As Orange Fades To Blue.

    • It’s what I live for! I don’t run for the fun of it, even though I do enjoy it. I don’t go to the gym because I want to become a body builder either. I do it all so I can get to the top of mountains.

    • Thanks! I sure think so. And it’s not the pictures, it’s the being there. Late in the day, knowing I’ll likely have the mountain top all to myself or with only one or two friends, then a peaceful hike out under, mostly, the light of the moon, that is very rewarding indeed.

    • Thank you! The star effect is easy, I used a small aperture, f/11 in this case. The smaller the aperture the more pronounced the effect.

      For the overall exposure, lately I’ve been using manual almost exclusively, with my camera’s metering mode set to spot. Then I’d meter off the brightest area in the scene that doesn’t contain the sun. I would then adjust the exposure so the meter in the viewfinder shows 1 1/2 – 2 stops overexposed.

      I do have to do a little fine tuning, but for the most part that technique has worked really well for me as far as retaining detail in the shadows and not totally blowing out the highlights. Of course there’s really no way to not have the sun itself as a totally blown out circle. Unless I wanted everything else in the photo to appear as silhouettes.

Comments and thoughtful critiques are always welcome.

