Weekly Photo Challenge: Express Yourself

Your Photographs Are You.

Painted Morning

The photographs you make are unique.

No matter the location, they are a piece of you.

Ten, a hundred, a thousand times, regardless of how often a place as been seen through a lens, the pictures you make will be different.

A small part of everything you are, the life you’ve lead up until the moment you press the shutter, will become the photograph.

Find inspiration in others, visit the iconic places, photograph uniquely.

Express yourself.
33 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Express Yourself

    • Thanks Annette, I’m glad you think so. Where I live in New Hampshire there are a ton of iconic and often photographed places. All a photographer has to do is put in a little effort and even the most photographed place in the world can be captured in a unique way.

  1. fantastic shot! I was going to ask you if you were the one to have put the silhouette up but you answered my question in another comment. It’s a sculpture? I had never seen another picture of it so yours is unique for me. And the colors are just absolutely stunning! it is so perfect for this week’s theme.

    • Thanks, Julie. If you were to look through the hard drives of pretty much any landscape photographer in the area you’d likely find a shot or two of this sculptor. This one was actually made on the same -10°F day as the lighthouse photo you like so much. On that day alone I bet at least 10 different photographers took pictures using this sculpture as a frame.

    • I’ve run into photographers that are secretive to the point of obsession when it comes to where their photos were made. I’m not one of those. I welcome and encourage people to come out and shoot the same places I have.

      I’ve been in veritable conga lines of photographers, all lined up to take photos of the same thing. While many of the photos may be similar, only one set was taken through my eyes.

    • Thanks Andy. I only wish it were original. As I’ve mentioned in other comments, that sculpture and the beautiful view beyond have been the subject of countless photographs made by just about every landscape photographer in the area.

      • Jeff, since I participated in Photography 101, I have come to realize that there is a vital other face to photography and that’s called post -production 😉 This may not be original, but important part of the image is your aesthetic sense.

        • That is so true! Anyone who thinks all of the gorgeous landscape photos they see are straight out of the camera without being “Photoshopped,” (I prefer the term enhanced) is fooling themselves. No matter how perfect the composition and exposure is, the press of the shutter is only the beginning. What happens during post processing is just as important to realizing the vision the photographer had at the time.

  2. Your words couldn’t not be more true and I love how you expressed them.
    Oh the pic is nice *wink* too. ok ok I can’t tease your photograph is just so serene. Awesome job as always. 🙂

    • Thanks, Lita! Being the SoCal girl you are I don’t think you’d find this all that serene if you’d been with me the morning I made this photo. I have a sneaking suspicion you’ve never seen -10°F 🙂

      • You are so right that I’ve never seen -10°F or anywhere near that and I still say it’s serene because I’ll be a frozen Popsicle as soon as I step out of your car. 🙂

Comments and thoughtful critiques are always welcome.

