Photography 101: Get Out And Explore.

Along with the first snow comes wanderlust.

Blue Hour In The Land Of Snow And Ice.

Along with seasons first big snow storm came a desire to head to the mountains. A call to get out and explore I would not resist.

The sky at sunset was rather plain, yet the pastels on the horizon as the blue hour set in made for a wonderful evening high in a winter wonderland of snow and rime ice.

(By the way, click on the image to view this 7 shot pano large. You’ll almost feel the cold as if you were there).

36 thoughts on “Photography 101: Get Out And Explore.

      • Thanks for the invitation πŸ˜‰ I’d love to but I’m afraid that’s not on the budget at the moment. I did however see a few pieces of ice when I went on my daily round with the doggie, so that’s progress πŸ˜€

        • I feel your pain. Maybe we should start a “Too poor to travel to the places we’d love to see” club? There’s a lot of this world I would love to see, most of which I will never be able to afford to.

          • That’s an idea! Together things get easier to achieve. I do however not buy into ‘I will never be’-sentences. I’d like to believe that I can still get everywhere I want. Even to places where winter still exists. I’ll put that on my Christmas Wish List πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks! Staying warm is easy, I can just throw on another layer. It’s during the warmer months I have more of a problem. You can only take off so much before you start getting strange looks from people. πŸ˜‰

  1. Wonderful colours in this photo. I would be interested to know how many people do click the image to view the large version. On my gardening blog I find very few people will even view the galleries properly, but then photographers might be different.

  2. Absolutely magnificent! We’ve had plenty of snow here in Ontario already but with temperatures that vary from -8C one day to +11C the next any snow we get does not stay long. I very much enjoyed your photo. Your talent is obvious!

    • Thanks, Teresa. We’re dealing with the same thing here. All the snow we got last Wednesday into Thursday will probably be gone but this coming weekend. At least at the lower elevations. Hopefully the snow sticks around in the mountains for a while.

Comments and thoughtful critiques are always welcome.

