Photography 101: Moment

Precious Moments

With the Cape Neddick, aka "Nubble" lighthouse in the background over the rough windswept sea, a young girl dressed in shorts and a pink fleece jacket, stands on the rocks and takes a photograph with her iPhone. Blonde hair pulled back in a ponytail without a care in the world.

I know many of you have seen this photo before, but this is a moment I’ll always cherish.

Normally I’d come unglued if someone were to so inconsiderately step right in front of me as I set up for a photograph. But all I could think of as my daughter stepped into the frame, without so much as a thought as to what Daddy was doing, iPhone raised to take her own picture, was “please don’t move, please don’t move, at least not until after I can press the shutter!”

I knew that if she did,Β the moment would be over. Having her pose in an attempt to recreate the scene would not have been the same.

I made a few really spectacular shots the day I made this. All very dramatic, waves crashing over the rocks. This will always be my favorite.

22 thoughts on “Photography 101: Moment

    • Oh yes! I was kind of tripping all over myself to get the shot too. I realized after the it was too late that I didn’t even have time to check focus. Luckily for me I normally go for lots of depth of field in a landscape photo, and she stepped into the perfect spot.

  1. I remember this shot of her so well πŸ™‚ Any picture is a moment frozen in time, but this one yes, you must cherish absolutely πŸ™‚ Lovely little girl πŸ™‚

  2. I can relate to the “please don’t move”. It can be difficult to capture good photos of children, because they seem to be constantly on the move. The same thing also goes for street photography: one shot can be perfect when it comes to composition, while in the next second it’s just a regular, bland photo.
    This scene is good, also without your daughter, but the fact that she’s there, makes the photo so much better. The human element elevates this shot.

Comments and thoughtful critiques are always welcome.

