You Know You’ve Made It When,

People steal your work.

Riverbank

I had my first solo show last night, 6/14, and this is one of the images that I really wanted to have framed and ready for the show.

But the framed print was stolen from the lobby of the building where my framer has her studio. She unloaded it and a few other pieces, not mine, from her car and then took an arm load of stuff up to her studio. When she returned for the rest, mine was gone!

Funny thing is, most everyone who commented on my fan page, though they did think it awful that some low-life-piece-of-crap-scumbag would take it, thought I should be at least moderately flattered that someone would risk arrest to steal one of my framed photos. (Personally I’m hoping they get hit by a bus!)

Miraculously, not only was my framer able to have a new print made, she was able to make another custom matte and frame and have it all together and ready for me and my show. All in the same day!!

 

Reason 1,0001 why Rebecca at RSP Studio in Dover, NH handles all of my matting and framing. I also need to give a shout out to Photosmith Imaging , also in Dover, for handling the reprinting.

 

 

Note to the photo thief, I’m getting my bus driving license.

73 thoughts on “You Know You’ve Made It When,

  1. Congratulations on your show! I’m sure it’s going to be great and people are going to be happy to see your pictures and BUY them, not STEAL them.

    As for the thief… don’t be low yourself and wish him bad. they have a bad karma doing what they did, they probably will be hit by a bus, but you shouldn’t be the driver, you don’t want that bad karma on your back! 😉

    Cheers to your awesome pictures, Jeff! this one and all the others! they are great! you’re doing a fabulous fabulous job!
    (I’m next in line to buy a print – once I’m back in Mexico!)

  2. Clicking “like” felt inappropriate .. I don’t like that a scumbag stole your work. I do like the photo and your post was enjoyable to read. “What goes around comes around” .. your scumbag should be worried. 😉

  3. Jeff, this photo is stunning! And regarding what happened to you, that really reeks. That person stole a piece of you. You really don’t want to know my thoughts right now. Some people …. xx Amy

    • Thanks Amy. It figures that the one photo I REALLY wanted for the show was the one that was taken. Then as I was hanging the replacement the picture hanger pulled out of the wall. I didn’t let it fall, but I started thinking that maybe this photo was cursed. 😀

      • For real??? Like not only is it bad enough it was stolen and then the hanger pulled out of the wall? I’m thinkin’ you photographed a “spirit” with that photo and it wasn’t um too happy. Just sayin’…… LOL xx

        • Really! As I was trying to find the hanger and hook the wire over it, the hanger pulled right out of the wall. Fortunately the photo was never supported by the hanger when it let go. If I had hung it and it came crashing down as I turned away I would have surely known it was a sign. 😀

  4. I like your attitude and what wonderful people to have around you and rally for you when things went belly-up. Had a good chuckle about the bus drivers license, but really what did the thief hope to achieve? It’s all now held with guilt which gives no pleasure at all. Like to hear how the show went in another post.

    • What am I gonna do, right? No point in getting too upset over it, that’s for sure. Since I know quite a few people in the area I am hoping that someone who knows me or knows my work will see it and let me know. I don’t have any high hopes that I’ll ever see it again though.

  5. Unbelievable that someone would steal your photo. 😦 But yes, it is flattering that someone would want to steal it I suppose. i know I’d feel that way which would be some consolation. It’s really beautiful! I love the deep, rich feeling it has.

  6. Congratulations on the solo exhibition. This is a wonderful image – I’d like to see what others featured in it. As for the thief all I can say is that he has good taste 😉

  7. Congratulations on your first solo show! Sorry to hear about the nerve-wracking experience prior to it, but good thing you have a reliable team who helped you prep this beautiful photo in time to show it.

    • Thanks again Miki. I really don’t know what I would do without the woman who does my framing. She also goes way out of her way to promote me and my work, which has been a huge help in achieving more name recognition, at least locally, for my photography. I can’t thank her enough.

    • Yes, it has been a while and I’m very happy to see you’re back 🙂 I hope all is well.

      Of course I’m still here, I don’t intend on going anywhere any time soon. The whole photography thing is taking off quite nicely, though I’m still a long way off from giving up my day job.

      As for the stolen photo, like so many have mentioned, it is kind of a compliment and I’m pretty much over it. I’m more angry at the timing, two days before my first show, than the loss of the print itself.

        • Thanks! The thing that has really helped me gain followers has been my participation in the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge. That has brought a lot of people to my blog. I’m sure there are a lot of pet related blogs out there and if you start visiting them you will eventually see an increase in traffic. It takes time though, but the more followers you get the faster it seems to grow.

  8. What a horrible thing that someone would steal your print like that. I think I wouldn’t be very flattered either. I love the photo Jeff, fantastic scene, those roots of that tree look so cool, as does the icy surface on the water. Great light and wonderful work with the black and white! So you have a solo exhibition? Congratulations! 🙂

  9. Awwwwwww LOL I know its not funny but your commentary is very funny. Glad you were still able to have a great show despite the d-bag thief!
    P.S. I hope he gets run over by a big tour bus….like the ones with what seems like 40 tires. 🙂

Comments and thoughtful critiques are always welcome.

