The Rock Pile.

Mount Washington, New Hampshire.

“The Rock Pile.”

“Home of the worlds worst weather.”

“World record wind.”

Those of you who’ve followed along with me for any length of time know I have an affinity for New Hampshire’s Mount Washington. For those new to these pages I’ve included some of my favorite memories of its perilous beauty and extreme weather. Favorite images including Mount Washington, and many captured on its slopes, showing both the natural beauty, and extreme weather.

The tallest peak in the northeast, affectionately known as “The Rock Pile,” Mount Washington is also known as “Home of the worlds worst weather.” The highest surface wind speed ever recorded by man, at 231 mph(372 kph), was recorded on its summit in 1934.

Mount Washington looms large above the landscape in northern New Hampshire.

The Mount Washington Observatory is a privately funded, non-profit organization dedicated to weather research and education.

Again this year I’ll be participating in Seek The Peak, one of the Observatory’s premier fundraising events. Like last year, I’ll again be raffling off 2 prints as part of my fundraising efforts. Unlike last year, where I chose the photo, this years winner will get to choose their winning print from among the many I have offered at www.jeffsinon.com.

The first of the two prints in the raffle is a signed 16″ x 24″ print. For each $10 (U.S.) pledge made HERE, your name is entered into the drawing. Winner will be chosen at random from all entries received.

The 20″ x 30″ canvas gallery wrap will go to the person who makes the largest single pledge. Nothing random about it, make the largest donation and the canvas is yours! (Please read the fine print!)*

Fine Print *  ~ The 16″ x 24″ print raffle is open to anyone world-wide. Sadly the canvas is only available to U.S. and Canada residents.

100% of all proceeds go to the Observatory. None of your donations are used to fund the print or the canvas. Those costs are covered completely by me.

The drawing for the print will be held during the week following the July 19, 2014 event and the winners will be notified via the email used when they make their donation. Winners will also be posted here on my blog as well as on my Fan Page.

Please consider making your donation by clicking HERE today!

Thank You!

I hope you enjoy the images I’ve included below, several of them captured during last years Seek The Peak event.

15 thoughts on “The Rock Pile.

    • Thanks Tina! That shot of the photographer(s) shows just how unpredictable the weather can be up there. And that’s in the spring too. All of the shots with me or my friends in them were taken in either late March or some time in April.

  1. I had a friend who said he skied down Mt. Washington. He said it was like ice skating down the mountain. I could be wrong, but I’m pretty sure that’s the mountain he told me about. He mentioned some of the things you did at the top. Very lovely and very cold-looking pics! 🙂

  2. beautiful and brrr cold-looking at the same time. what a stunning place. i have to admit that i am glad it is you doing the climbing, and that the photos are here for us to enjoy at our leisure – in the comfort of a warm home 🙂

Comments and thoughtful critiques are always welcome.

