I’m Famous!

At least among kids anyway.

I’m pretty excites to announce that my first published photo is hitting the news stands now!

As a kid I used to love reading Ranger Rick Magazine, a publication put out by the National Wildlife Federation. So having one of my photos on the back cover of the February 2014 issue is pretty darn cool, to me anyway.

Though at first glance, when I looked at one of the copies of the magazine they sent me, I thought the photo looked a little weird because they reversed it for use on the back cover. As shot the cardinal is facing the other way.

No matter.

After a few rounds of patting myself on the back and a few high-fives to self as well, I had to share the news.

The Front... _MG_6210

68 thoughts on “I’m Famous!

  1. Wahoooooo!! I’m so excited for you, and I’m pretending you are standing right in front of me, and I’m giving you tons of high fives. That’s such a beautiful photo though that it really deserved to be on the front cover!

    • Yes it is, I’m not going to lie about that. I love the feeling I get whenever I make a sale. Doesn’t matter if it’s a framed print, a canvas, or a magazine cover. It would be a very sad day if I ever lose it too.

    • Thanks! So, were you an animal nerd too? If there was something on TV, or in a book about animals, I would watch or read it, anything and everything. As I mentioned in a previous reply, I was often able to surprise my teachers with what I knew about animals. To this day I still watch a lot of wildlife related shows.

    • Thanks Jeanette. There’s a part of me that is very proud of myself, yet another part is still surprised people enjoy my photos enough to buy one. Putting one on the cover of a magazine is really an honor.

  2. Congrats, Jeff! I love the magazine too, so glad they make a Junior version for the younger kids. Hopefully, this is just a stepping stone for future work. πŸ™‚

  3. Congratulations! I haven’t had anything published since I stopped working for a newspaper in 2005. It’s a good feeling. After awhile, it will become old hat. πŸ™‚ Let’s pray it doesn’t. πŸ™‚

      • I always did my best when I worked for the newspaper. The greatest fun was in the taking of the pictures. After awhile, the actual publishing of the photos got to be old hat, just a job, you know. But the taking of the photos, that was the thing; that was the excitement.

        However, I did get excited when I won some first-place awards from both the state and national newspaper associations, a third-place in the state as well.

        Now, if I ever got something published, I’d feel like you do. It’s a total different matter when my livelihood doesn’t depend on taking photos and writing articles/columns on a daily basis.

        I wish you continued success. Have you ever done a blog on how you go about seeking out venues to publish your photographs? That would be interesting.

    • Thank you, and no problem on being “late.” I’m sure you have so many better things to do and aren’t sitting on the edge of your seat waiting eagerly for my next post πŸ˜‰

Comments and thoughtful critiques are always welcome.

