Weekly Photo Challenge: Eerie

The Wrongfully Accused

In the year 1692, during the months of June, July, August, and September, in Salem, Massachusetts, 14 women and 6 men are put to death.

Their crimes?

All are tried and convicted of being witches.

300 years later the names of those wrongfully executed were memorialized in granite.

There were many more imprisoned under suspicion of being witches, at least 5 died while in prison.

Eerie.

Read more about the Salem Witch Trials, HERE. And HERE.

And read about some of the key figures involved, HERE.

37 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Eerie

  1. Excellent post and thanks for the links! It’s amazing, the hysteria that ended in such tragedy. Glad these souls were memorialized in granite and that their fate was included. Shocking

    • The methods they used to get accused “witches” to confess was equally barbaric. One method was known as dunking, and it really shows the backward logic of the time. The accused was strapped to a chair and then repeatedly dunked under water. If they survived, they were considered vindicated and set free. If not, well it really didn’t matter did it?

      It’s also good to know that every one of them had their name cleared. I can only imagine living in a time when it would have been common and easy to believe in such things as witches.

    • Thank you Merilee. I was quite intrigued by the money as well. There was a volunteer at the Memorial, dressed in period costume of course, who I asked about the significance of the money(there were some candles and dried flowers on a few of the benches as well). She wasn’t sure, but suspected it was left in tribute. She said there is a fairly large number of Wiccan living in and around Salem. It is “The Witch City” after all 🙂 So that made sense to me. I haven’t researched any further than that yet.

    • Me too. If there’s any good to have come from it, according to some of the research and reading I did while looking for links to provide more info about the trials, the lessons learned during this period helped lay the foundation for our current justice system.

    • I know, at least hanging would hopefully have been relatively quick. Having heavy stones placed on you until you confessed. The fact that a person wouldn’t have been able to speak with all the weight bearing down on them would have prevented them from “confessing” even if they wanted to in order to save themselves.

        • Actually, from the further reading I’ve been doing, confessing may very well have saved them. The accused may have been given absolution from their “sins,” and released from prison. I’m not 100% certain of this, but your comment has renewed my long standing curiosity.

            • That is what has always struck me as odd about the whole thing. Regardless of their obviously strong religious beliefs, how could something that seems simple common sense have completely gone overlooked? Though, history has shown that common sense gets pushed aside by extremism, religious or any other. And sadly that hasn’t changed much since 1692.

                • I hope not to have this turn into a pro or con religious discussion, that’s so far from the purpose of my blog(it is all about me and my photos after all :-P), suffice it to say I could not agree with you more.

                    • Please don’t worry, I’m not accusing or anything. I can just as easily see myself saying something I shouldn’t, as anyone else 😉 But the subject can get so divisive so quickly I wanted to head that off before it had a chance to happen.

                      I definitely want to be known and remembered for my images, not my ability to stick my foot in my mouth. That’s a talent I try not to share too often 😀

    • Thanks Tom. I had a feeling these would stand out a little more, especially with the manner of death inscribed with the name. Though they are definitely far from what I imagine anyone would consider good photographs.

Comments and thoughtful critiques are always welcome.

