Weekly Photo Challenge: The Golden Hour

The Magic Of Golden Hour Light. 

Whether it’s being there for the awakening of a new day, or watching the sun as it bids you good night, the “golden hours,” the hour or so surrounding both sunrise and sunset, are when the magic happens. The best of this golden light, when the sun is low in the sky and traveling through more of the earths atmosphere, is often fleeting, and you won’t witness it from the warmth of your bed. You need to get up and get out!

I believe that half of what it takes to create good landscape imagery is a willingness to be there when this magic happens. As long as you’re willing to rise long before the sun, and/or walk back to your car long after it sets, “Mother Nature” will often take care of the rest.

Here are a few of my  “golden hour” images.

43 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: The Golden Hour

    • Thank you very much. I stumbled across yours in the Weekly Challenge post. I had a very strong feeling that there was going to be a lot of great photos this week with a “Golden Hours” theme. I have not been disappointed.

      Funny about that Dover image. I was initially very disappointed when arriving at the reservoir(also my favorite water lily spot). I was following those clouds from across town and had hoped they wouldn’t be as far to the right as they ended up being. But with the colors in the sky and the reflection, along with the texture in the ice, my mood brightened considerably after a few minutes. The very best part of the whole evening though was the company. It’s nearly impossible to see in a web sized image, but there was a beaver, hidden in the reflection of the trees, hanging out near the uppermost point in the open water.

    • Most definitely! I have no problem forgoing sleep to get a photograph. The one in Tuckerman Ravine required leaving my house at just after midnight to be at the trailhead for a 3 a.m. start time. The one from Mt. Avalon, made at sunset, meant a 3 mile hike out over snow and ice covered, often steep trails, in the dark. I LOVE IT!

  1. It’s good to have a little time to catch up again, Jeff, and this is a great way to get back in. I’m drawn to the more subtle ‘scapes–your Layers, Mountains in Green really does it for me!

    • I’m glad to hear you have a little time for yourself again Gary. Thank you, I wasn’t sure I was going to capture the light the way I say it, or at least the way I saw it in my mind. But it turned out okay I think.

    • I’m glad I was able to live up to expectations. I have to admit I was pretty happy with this weeks theme. Dare I say it was almost too easy coming up with photos for this one 🙂

Comments and thoughtful critiques are always welcome.

