Weekly Photo Challenge: Companionable

Bailey.

Dear sweet lovable Bailey.

Without question the smartest dog I’ve known. From bringing a box of tissues upon hearing “Achoo!,” to turning on the lights when asked, you were an amazing member of the family. Equally at home cuddling on the couch, as in the woods searching for ruffed grouse, you were as affectionate as you were a bird hunting machine.Β Watching you work was joy in its purest form.

I think of you often.

Dear Sweet Bailey

* Β * Β *

Hunter

Hidden beneath your bark and bulk, lies sensitivity beyond measure. You’re 85 pounds of yellow affection. When expressing happiness, your tail is never enough, only a full body wag will do.

Still a puppy at heart.

Alert

 

42 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Companionable

    • Thank you Melanee. Since I now longer hunt with anything other than a camera, our next dog will likely be a rescue. But if we choose a pure-bred, there is absolutely no doubt it will be a lab.

    • They are both amazing dogs. Both are smart in their own way, but with Bailey you could see her trying to figure out the problem. I don’t know if I’ll ever have another dog as intelligent as she was.

  1. Fantastic post! I own a Nova Scotia Duck Tolling Retriever and I’m lucky to still have him. I can’t imagine life without my trusted companion but alas I know the day will come so for now we enjoy every moment. Best Mark

      • As I keep thinking of Buster [http://pitstexasexpatblog.wordpress.com/2013/06/28/weekly-foto-challenge-companionable/] and love Sally and Chiquita [http://pitstexasexpatblog.wordpress.com/2013/01/20/news-about-our-four-legged-crew/].
        Best regards from southern Texas,
        Pit

  2. Beautiful! I’m sorry for your loss. I feel your pain, my Lab/Dutch Shep passed away a few years ago, I had him for 14 years. He was without a doubt the most amazing creature I had ever known. I have yet to fill his place with another pup, the wound hasn’t healed enough yet.

    • Thank you Stephanie. Bailey has been gone for almost two years now, but she was such an amazing dog I still think of her. Hunter is still very much with us, as much a lovable doofus as ever. When I look at him, and the way he still acts, it’s hard to believe he’s almost 12.

Comments and thoughtful critiques are always welcome.

