Weekly Photo Challenge: The World Through My Eyes

The world as I see it changes throughout the seasons and my ever-changing photographic moods.

Through my lens, here is some of what I see.

 

Brilliant sunrises along the rocky coast.

A golden sunrise at Rye Harbor State Park. A large granite boulder sits in the milky surf.

* * *

The quiet solitude of a stream cascading through golden autumn forests.

A lone red maple leaf rests on a rock in the middle of a cascading forest stream. The background bathed in golden Autumn sunshine.

* * *

Frigid winter sunsets overlooking coastal New Hampshire towns.

North Church steeple at sunset on a frigid winter's evening

* * *

Intimate moments with a woodland family.

Black bear sow with two cubs in the forest. The mother stares intently out at the viewer.

* * *

My daughter capturing the power of the sea with her iPhone.

With the Cape Neddick, aka "Nubble" lighthouse in the background over the rough windswept sea, a young girl dressed in shorts and a pink fleece jacket, stands on the rocks and takes a photograph with her iPhone. Blonde hair pulled back in a ponytail without a care in the world.

* * *

The world as I see it is an awe inspiring and beautiful place, it is my honor to share it with you.

34 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: The World Through My Eyes

    • Thank you and yes they are. When she walked right into my shot of the lighthouse I just about killed myself trying to get that shot before she moved. I knew the shot would never be the same had I missed, and then had to stage a do-over. I’ve photographed that lighthouse, along with every other nut with a camera, many times. This one will always be my favorite.

    • Honestly, pure, unadulterated, dumb luck! I had come back to my campsite from photographing sunrise, while sitting down and planning my day of fly fishing I heard a noise, looked up, and there they were, right across the stream from my site. No more than 50-75 feet away! I wasn’t sure whether I should change lenses or get the hell out of there. You can tell which decision won the coin toss.

      Mom was actually asleep when I first started photographing them. She woke up briefly for this family portrait, and then lay back down. Which gave me a pretty good idea I wasn’t going to get my butt kicked. At least I hoped so at the time 🙂

  1. Oh my Jeff – they are all lovely as can be – but the one of your daughter and her I phone – capturing the power of the sea — took my breath away! x Much Love – Happy Summer, Robyn

  2. All pictures are wonderful … but … the “wild life photo” with (of) your daughter is amazing ;-).
    The lighthouse alone is a nice motive but with your daughter the picture gets somthing special.

    • Thank you Sir! But at this point I can only deram I were truly a professional and earning my living with my photographs.

      My current camera is a Canon 7D. However this post includes photos from every camera model I’ve ever owned.

      The sunrise and the bears were shot with my 8 megapixel 1D MkIIn, the stream with my 10 mp 40D, with the church steeple and my daughter rounding out the mix with my 18mp, and current pride and joy, 7D. All Canon of course

    • Thanks Tina. No matter how long I do this and no matter how many precarious places I try to get into to get a photograph, this will likely remain the most exciting, exhilarating, and terrifying experience I ever have behind the camera.

    • Thank you Donna. That photo of my daughter will forever be one of my favorites. I’ve never been as happy with anything that’s happened to me while out shooting as I was when she stepped in front of me. I couldn’t have planned it better if I tried.

    • Yes, very lucky.

      I tend to agree with you about the luck part. Especially when it comes to the weather and landscape photography. Being prepared for that “luck,” being willing to get out there at the right time, time and again, for the best light helps to bring that luck.

  3. You are right.. it is beautiful and awe-inspiring and you make it look even more so. Dreamy, calming and soaked in beauty!!!!
    I should probably feel bad about my perception of the world 😀 ;).

Comments and thoughtful critiques are always welcome.

