Weekly Photo Challenge: Up

I spent a lot of time “Up” this past weekend. 

First I spent some time looking “Up”-stream at one of my favorite waterfalls. That’s Bridal Veil Falls at Castle In The Clouds peeking out from between the walls of the gorge.

Looking upstream through the gorge towards Bridal Veil Falls.

Then I spent a bit of time on my knees looking “Up” at the ruins of the abandoned Redstone granite quarry in Conway, NH. 

(A great big thanks to my friend Nate for letting me test drive his Tokina 11-16 f2.8)

Old rusting lathe and weathered building at the Redstone Quarry, Conway, NH

 The following morning it was “Up” at 1:30 a.m. for a hike “Up” for another sunrise visit to one of my favorite locations in the White Mountains of New Hampshire, Tuckerman Ravine. 

As Tuckerman Ravine is on Mount Washington, “Home of the worlds worst weather,” the weather can be, shall we say, unpredictable. Living up to its reputation, the scene below is what greeted us as the sun came up. Extremely high winds, snow, and often near white-out conditions. 

(Take a close look in the base of the bowl in the photo below. What was once “Up” has come down, in the form of an avalanche. You can see the debris field in the center of the frame.)

Whiteout conditions in Tuckerman Ravine 

That sign wasn’t there a month ago!

Bright orange ice fall warning sign in Tuckerman Ravine

Since sun-“Up” was a slight disappointment, we decided to simply enjoy the weather. And take a few shots of ourselves. When the wind wasn’t trying to blow us over that is. You can really see the wind whipping the snow behind my friend Tracy. 

Traci Lin In Tuckerman RavineI'll do almost anything for a photo

You just gotta love April in New Hampshire!

A gentle reminder.

I’m still seeking donations for the upcoming “Seek The Peak” hike-a-thon to benefit the Mount Washington Observatory. You can read more about the history behind the Observatory and all the work they do by clicking on this LINK.

Please click HERE to make your tax deductible donation. Each $10 donation enters you in a chance to win a signed 16″ x 24″ print of the photo below. To sweeten the deal even further, the largest single donation(available to residents of North America only, sorry) wins you a 20″ x 30″ stretched canvas gallery wrap of the same image. 

Thank you for your support.

The snow covered summit of Mt Washington bathed in pink alpenglow.

12 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Up

  1. Nice shots Jeff! I like how your photograph of the Quarry came out, especially how you can still see the top of the building in the background and the nice color that you got there.

    You can borrow that lens any time I come for a visit, I’m hooked on my 17-40 right now anyway 😀 Glad you liked it!

    – Nate

  2. Wow great shots Jeff. Never been to the top of Mt Washington…I would bet it’s pretty cool. No pun intended. We camped at the base though in September. All our water froze overnight…and we did too!

    • Thanks! So far I’ve only been to the summit in my car, but I’ve wanted to hike it for some time. Now with the “Seek The Peak” hike-a-thon I have a good reason to finally do it!

    • Thank you! I’ve been to the place several times, but it wasn’t until I had borrowed an ultra wide angle lens that I was able to get a few photos that really appealed to me.

Comments and thoughtful critiques are always welcome.

