HDR Software At It’s Finest

Just got even better!

With the release of Nik HDR Efex Pro 2

hdr2_hero_banner

Nik Software produces some of the finest creative plugins on the market. Almost every one of my images is enhanced using them.

Here is an example of an HDR image created using HDR Efex Pro, I can’t wait to see what they’ve done in 2!

Lilypadss dominate the foreground looking out over the Bellamy Reservoir towards the setting sun. A sky filled with clouds adding drama to the scene. The suns bright glow appears like a fire on the horizon just over the tree line on the far shore. Faint pinks, purples, and golds ever so slightly coloring the clouds.

18 thoughts on “HDR Software At It’s Finest

    • Nice! Did you get 2? I just got the notification today that it was released. Also, I just added an image made using HDR Efex Pro. I’m so looking forward to seeing what they’ve added or improved in 2.

        • That would be great, I’d love to see what you come up with. I absolutely love the Nik plugins! I have no desire whatsoever to become a post processing genius, there control points with the “U-Point Technology” make it so easy to achieve the look I envision for every one of my photos. Once I realized just how much control I have over almost every aspect of the image, without having to learn complicated masking, making selections, or layers, etc in Photoshop (which by the way I don’t even own), I was hooked. I contacted Nik about becoming an affiliate not so I could possibly earn a few bucks in commissions, but so I could make it so my followers could save 15%. That’s how great I think the software is.

      • …Well this is awkward lol. Nah I actually don’t. That didn’t work out so well, but I’m potentially starting something new with someone else…and THIS one is even more into photography ๐Ÿ™‚ But, for now…all my money can still go to photography =). Which is good because I have to pay for my smugmug site. Its been expired for a couple days lol.

        • Well that’s too bad ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Hopefully this new girl works out. Really into photography? What a bonus! You’ll be able to impress her with all of your vast knowledge and sweep her off her feet.

    • You can take this as fact, if I can do it anyone can! The real trick is to maintain some resemblance of realism. I think there is a place for the over-the-top tone mapped HDR image, but I try for what I like to call “Hyper-Real.” I hope the image in the post achieves that. Obviously enhanced, but in a pleasing, not “oh it hurts my eyes” kind of way. The HDR Efex has made it very easy for my to go from mild to wild with my HDR images. Give the 15 day trial a try. But I warn you, prepare to break out the credit card ๐Ÿ˜€

  1. I’m an Adobe gal. Super jazzed about the new streaming options, which are way more cost-effective way of getting such powerful tools as Photoshop and Illustrator. With a subscription, you pay for how much you use the products rather than paying one big lump sum.
    Whatever product you use, editing photos is fun. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • I use Lightroom 4 for my basic editing and cataloging, but that’s the only Adobe product I own. If I can’t do it in LR4 and my Nik plugins, it isn’t worth the effort. What I love about the Nik software is that I don’t need to know Photoshop, or even own it, in order to get the results I’m looking for. The less time behind the computer the better.

      You’re right, editing my images can be fun. As long as I can get the results I want in the least amount of time, with the least amount of effort. ๐Ÿ˜€

Comments and thoughtful critiques are always welcome.

