Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost In The Details

Wide and all-encompassing is not the only way to photograph a scene.

While out photographing, I’m often drawn to what I refer to as intimate portraits within the scene. While the grand scene before me may very well be quite spectacular, the overlooked details often provide the beauty within the beauty.

I do love Tucker Brook Falls.

Both in it’s entirety…

Captured just after the first dusting of snow, Tucker Brook Falls in Milford, NH. With a large snow frosted log dominating the foreground and the falls itself dominating the background in this dramatic forest scene.

Β …and up close and personal.

A close up look at Tucker Brook Falls, Milford, NH

Think Small.

While looking for that grand nature scene, it pays to look a little closer.

Overhanging the rapidly flowing water underneath, hard frozen stream-side icicles provide stark contrast to the smooth flow of the running stream under the ice shelf.

And don’t forget to simply look down.

Close-up of a single faded oak leaf held fast partially frozen in the surface of a New Hampshire lake. Fine bubbles frozen in the ice make it all but opaque yet full of detail.

Focusing on the details can often yield spectacular results.

One of my favorite landscape lenses is the Canon EF 70-200 f2.8L. In fact, if I could only own one lens this would be it. For isolating small key features of a landscape, a moderate telephoto lens and the way it has a compressing affect a scene, is often the perfect lens for getting “Lost In The Details.”

46 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost In The Details

  1. Thank you so much it’s very wonderful blog I like it so much, please stop on my blog solo sailing around the world in a SAN JUAN 24-foot sailboat I am leaving in May of 2013 from Washington state, also you can visit my FACEBOOK too and http://about.me/meleshyusrimas

  2. Great series, Jeff. Really love the last two, especially the icicles. “Thinking small” was a turning point for me when I was starting out in photography. I was always bent on getting everything. While the sweeping, grandiose composition has it’s role, isolating the details helps round out the scene to me and make for a nice series. But I never thought of it as a intimate portrait of nature. That’s an excellent idea to keep in mind.

    • I was the same way yet I could never quite pull it off. Every time I tried to capture the entire scene, the resulting image always seemed lacking. I was however able to do quite well if I were to just isolate a small part of it. I’ve learned to not let the wide grand scenic vistas overwhelm me now. Now I feel I’m much better at finding the photograph within the scene and not just the snapshot.

    • Thanks Amar. Yes, that image, along with pretty much every one of my images is edited in Lightroom to start, and then that one was also edited using the Tonal Contrast filter in Nik’s Color Efex Pro 3 (I currently use Color Efex Pro 4). I couldn’t tell you the exact settings as I usually just play around with the sliders until I achieve the look I’m after.

  3. As usual Jeff … simply superb! I particularly love ‘Think Small’ Love the difference between the softness of the water-flow and the definition of the rock. The leaf is excellent too.

  4. Came back for a 2nd look because I always find your photo’s so fascinating. The one with the icicyles is like something out of a Christmas children’s story. Your photo’s could be great book covers. Come on people get one of these for your books…!!!! How’s that Jeff??? Need a cheering squad in your corner – I’m it. Love these ….

    • I do appreciate the return visit! In a frame on the wall, on a book cover, I hope someone out there is listening πŸ˜€

      Thank you Isadora, I value each and every member of my cheering section.

    • Thank you for the compliment, and thank you for visiting.

      One thing I always try to do when photographing such a popular spot with the local photographers, is to find unconventional compositions and shooting angles. This also usually involves seeking out small “photographs within the photograph,” if you will.

Comments and thoughtful critiques are always welcome.

