Water Water Everywhere.

One of my favorite things to photograph…

…Is water, moving water in particular. And one key to getting the look I’m after in any moving water image is a long exposure. It’s that long exposure that gives the water that silky smooth, etherial look that many, myself included, find so appealing. To achieve that soft, silky look a long exposure is required. The most important step to take during these long exposures is to have the camera securely mounted on a sturdy tripod. Having the camera on a sturdy support during exposure makes sure the surrounding scenery is rendered sharp while the shutter is open for an extended period. Something virtually impossible to achieve while hand-holding the camera.

All of which brings me to the point of this post. Really Right Stuff, manufacture of machined aluminum art, that happens to do double duty as camera support equipment, is holding their 2013 Photo Contest. The theme of this contest is, as you may have guessed, WATER. 

Below are the two images that will be submitted as my entries, both of which have graced the pages of my blog before. I have also included camera, lens, and exposure info, along with the Really Right Stuff equipment used. Click on either image to see it large!

“No Swimming.”

Rocky Gorge, Swift River, White Mountains, NH.

Vertical image of Rocky Gorge on the Swift River in the White Mountains of New Hampshire. Vibrant fall foliage can be seen on the far bank above the gorge.

Canon EOS 7D, Tamron 17-50 f2.8, ISO 100, f16 for 1.3 seconds.

RRS B7D-L Camera L Plate.

RRS BH-40 LR II Ball Head.

“Forest Stream.”

Tucker Brook, Milford, NH

A boulder strewn stream through the forest. A fresh dusting of the seasons first snow clings the overhanging evergreen boughs.

Canon EOS 40D, Canon EF 17-40 f4L, ISO 100, f16 for 6 seconds.

RRS B40DL Camera L Plate

RRS BH-40 LR II Ball Head.

In case you’re wondering, I’m not asking for your votes, I simply hope those who’ve seen these before enjoy seeing them again, and those that haven’t, enjoy them for the first time. Also, I have absolutely no affiliation with Really Right Stuff, I just think they make some of the best camera support equipment on the market. They are true works of art and worth every penny!

The contest is open to Really Right Stuff customers, more information can be found HERE.

19 thoughts on “Water Water Everywhere.

  1. Jeff. Great images. I really enjoy your work. Although I like both photos, the first one is simply spectacular. Great composition, great color, great post and yes great job getting that silky effect on the water. If I may offer one suggestion though, on the first image I would have cloned out the sign. Should be fairly easy to do.

    • Thanks Mark.

      You know, I’m torn, and probably always will be, about that sign. If I clone it out, then I have to come up with another title, as “No Swimming” won’t quite have the same ring to it. Not to mention the comedic affect of having the sign in such an unlikely “swimming” location.

      Jeff

      Jeff Sinon Photography http://www.jeffsinon.com 603-973-9886

        • Again, thank you! I have been thinking a lot about removing it, but it is part of the scene that every visitor to this area sees. I’ve been on the fence ever since I made it last fall. If I were to have it for sale in a higher end gallery I would probably remove it. I normally go to great lengths to keep man-made objects like this out of the frame, but I do recall my thought process at the time, and that I wanted to work with the sign as soon as I read what it said.

          If this wasn’t such an easily accessible, and popular tourist spot I probably would have removed it.

    • Thank you! That peace is one of the things that is most important to me in making my photographs. When I’m out with my camera I don’t have a care in the world. I simply enjoy being in nature, and the camera allows me to bring a little memory of it home with me.

      • Oh yes, that’s the same that I think. In English it ist difficult to explain for me 🙂 But, when I’m going out, taking photos, there is only me and the camera. So, like you said, each picture is a memory for myself 🙂

  2. Marvelous photos, Jeff. Question: when doing these long exposures on the tripod, do you also turn on mirror-lockup? I’ve done it for really long night exposures but have heard it helps in these scenarios as well.

    • Yes in fact I do. I actually use live view a lot, so mirror lock-up by default. But even when not using LV, I have mirror lock-up enabled. And when I’m not on the tripod I forget to turn it off almost every time 😛 The first press of the shutter and everything goes black. First, “WTF?” Then, “Doh!” 😀

    • Thanks Jim. I had planned to head into the mountains for some fall foliage that day, but the forecast was pretty sketchy. But it was only predicting a drizzly mess for most of the day. With limited time to get out, and a short peak foliage season, I’m glad I decided to brave the rain.

  3. I love long exposures, and I would like to get some filters and give it a try myself someday. The only problem is, I’m allergic to tripods. The idea of having to leave the camera standing on a tripod instead of running around the beach like I usually do when I go shooting is unnverving. I have the same ability to stand still as a five-year-old, I guess.
    Good luck with the contest, Jeff, these are both beautiful.

Comments and thoughtful critiques are always welcome.

