Weekly Photo Challenge: Big

Bull moose geting ready to cross the road. Head and shoulders with the moose looking from left to right in the image

Head and shoulders of a bull moose with its head down feeding.

vertical portrait of a young bull moose. The bull is on the right of the frame looking left, with its mouth partially open.

 North American Moose (Alces alces).

They can stand almost 7 feet (2.1 meters) at the shoulder, and an adult bull can weigh anywhere between 840 and 1,500 lbs (380-700kg).

So yes, BIG!

For anyone wondering, yes this is a 100% wild moose, and yes I was very close. In fact, since I had to step out of his way as he went to cross the road. Moments after the last shot in my previous post was taken, he passed by close enough that I could have reached out and touched his antler. 

If you have any questions about my encounter with this wonderful guy, or any other photography related questions, please feel free to ask.

28 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Big

    • Thanks Jo, it really was. It was so impressive that he just started walking right at me, secure that I would give way to him passing. Had I stood my ground he may have veered off at the last minute, maybe not. I wasn’t going to press my luck. I’m not afraid of a moose, but they are coming into the rut, and the bulls can be very unpredictable. Being close enough to touch him was enough 🙂

    • And he isn’t the biggest I’ve ever encounter, not by a long shot. But I’ve never been this close to any of the moose I’ve come across.

    • Thank you, and that is an understatement. Not quite as exhilarating as the black bear sow with three cubs I photographed in the same area a few years ago, but exciting none the less. But then again, there’s little chance a moose will eat me 😛

    • Then you need to come to New Hampshire! In the northern town of Pittsburg, next stop Canadian boarder, if you can’t see a moose, you’re just not looking. In my former life as an avid bird hunter, we NEVER didn’t encounter moose in this area.

  1. Despite living in northern MN, I have only encountered moose in the wild up here once — but it was times three! On my way to an early morning meeting in Ely, I came around a corner of the winding road, and in my way were 3 moose — a mama and 2 adolescents (probably 80% her size). They are massive, aren’t they? I wished I had my camera with me that morning in the car, as one walked off to one side of the road and two to the other after I politely tapped my horn, and then crawled the car in between them as they solemnly watched me go. Such great detail in your head shots of this handsome fellow. ~ Kat

    • Don’t you just hate it when you have an encounter like that and the camera is at home. I’ve had the same type of thing happen to me more than once.

  2. Wonderful Pictures, Jeff. You are a really brave man to go so close to him and to capture these pictures. As always I liked your interpretation a lot. Have a great Sunday!

    • Thanks Arindam, but it was more like he came close to me. Though not afraid of moose, I do have a respect for all wildlife and generally let them have their space.

    • Surprisingly, they can be. Getting this close is a little unusual, but not by much. As big as they are, they really have nothing to fear in the woods.

      This time of year the bulls can be unpredictable though, so I never turned my back on him as I stepped out of his way to let him pass.

Comments and thoughtful critiques are always welcome.

