Weekly Photo Challenge: Solitary

SOL-I-TARY: 

1) taken, passed, or performed without companions.

2) occurring singly and not as part of a group or cluster.

Often, but not always, my best work is created while I’m alone. While I enjoy the company of others, I find that solitude is much more beneficial to my creative process. I’m not saying these images represent my best work, but to me they do represent “solitary.”

Standing amidst the clouds, a photographer stands on a rock outcropping near the summit of  Mt. Washington, NH. Evergreens in the foreground lead your eye towards the red cap wearing photographer.

Amidst the clouds, a solitary photographer near the summit of Mt. Washington, NH.

Foot shot of me wearing my Five fingers sitting atop Bald Knob overlooking Castle In The Clouds.

Me and my Five Fingers, solitary and enjoying the view from Bald Knob, overlooking Castle In The Clouds, Moultonborough, NH.

A lone mute swan sits motionless on the still surface of the water, with a wall of brown reeds as a backdrop.

A mute swan rests, solitary as it seemingly admires its reflection, Durham, NH.

A snowy owl sits atop the sand dunes enjoying the early morning sun. Hampton Beach State Park, NH.

Solitary in the sand dunes, a snowy owl enjoys the early sunlight at Hampton Beach State Park, NH.

28 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Solitary

    • They are starting, slowly but surely! I’ve got a few good hikes planned thanks to tips from a few good friends that spend a lot of time in the mountains. This WILL be the year I get the fall shots from high in the Whites I’ve been wanting. No more wishing, time to start doing!!!

    • Thanks Paula. I don’t get out hiking as much as I’d like to, but that is changing this fall. I plan to make several long hikes into the White Mountains for my fall images this year. I’m done talking about it, time to start doing it!

        • As an avid fan, most of the movies are disappointments after having read the books.The Green Mile was one of the exceptions. The movies are usually good on there own, but I can’t stop myself from comparing them to the book. Watching the movie first sounds like it might be the way to go 🙂

          • I agree that The Green Mile was close to the book. If you watch the movie first, you’ll just be able to picture the movie in your head and not make up your own “mental images”. I believe the best thing is to read the book first.

    • Thank you Suzanne! I think you’re right. Most of what I consider my best work was created while I was alone. Probably because I like to talk, and if I’m gabbing, I’m not creating. 😀

Comments and thoughtful critiques are always welcome.

