Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban

As Urban As I Get.

This weeks WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge theme is “Urban.” Since I had already made plans to head into Portsmouth, NHΒ today (Saturday) anyway, I was in luck. Also, since I would rather have a root canal than step foot into a “real” city, Portsmouth would have to do.

The weather wasn’t completely cooperative this morning, and fog prevented me from getting several of the photos I was hoping for. All in all, still worth the effort.

Portsmouth is an “artsy” town, even the graffiti is top-notch.

Street art painting of a girl with a black cat on her shoulders, painted on the red stucco exterior of an ice cream shop on State St. in Portsmouth, NH.

Okay, maybe not ALL the graffiti is top-notch.

Graffiti on doors in alley

Nothing says New England…

…like a towering white steeple above downtown. Unfortunately the fog made for less than inspiring skies as a backdrop.

bright red plants and ornamental grasses in a downtown garden stand in the foreground, with the white steeple of Portsmouth, NH's North Church towering in the background.

Not a bad way to get around town.

scooter parked on the brick sidewalk  in front of the yellow exterior of a State Street, Portsmouth, NH business..

 

I hope these images were “Urban” enough for you.

49 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban

  1. Hi, Jeff, I’d like to compliment you on the third photo. I’d like to offer a suggestion to change “unfortunately” to “fortunately!” I find that the foggy softening of the steeple is more than amply offset, and very dramatically enhanced, by your incllusion of the fabulous foliage in the foreground. A beautiful work!

    • Thanks Gary! Sometimes I tend to let my disappointment with how I hoped a scene would work out get in the way of how well it might have worked out regardless. I do think this shot is a nice bookend to the very same composition I have of this church, only in my other shot there is a large Christmas tree taking up the foreground where the garden is now.

  2. We have lived in or near several large cities and are now enjoying living in a small town in a rural area. Thanks for sharing about Portsmouth. It looks like a clean, charming small city.

  3. I love this little town and can easily see myself living there :D. You should do more “urban” photography :O It is almost better than your topnotch landscape takes :). I have a favourite among these… can you guess which one?

      • Really?! I’m full of surprises πŸ™‚
        Okay honestly, I like the way the bike looks in the picture more than I would like taking it out for a spin. With the colors and setting, it just works.

        • So I shouldn’t look for you during bike week in Laconia next year? πŸ˜€

          I know what you mean. I know this is hardly an original idea, but the scooter on the brick sidewalk in front of such a vibrantly colored storefront? It was practically daring me to take the shot! πŸ™‚

          • Haha! No! At least not without a camera in hand. And cameras don’t go well with moving, open air, two wheeled transport πŸ˜‰
            You’re too hard on yourself. I wasn’t thinking this unoriginal at all. I know others who could have taken this pic and I wouldn’t have given it a second glance. It’s all in the style, angle and finish. Either you have it or you don’t. And you, my friend, clearly have it!

            • I can think of a boat-load of photos to be made from the back of a bike.

              Thanks for the comment on the photo. I was thinking more along the lines of having seen plenty of “bicycle / scooter leaning up against the building” shots. Thanks for the vote of confidence πŸ˜€

  4. love it! love the first photo, love the third photo, love everything! urban enough? you bet! but really the third photo is awesome..you were squatting on the ground when you took that photo? the color display is fab

    • Thank you, thank you, thank you! Yes, I was kneeling on the ground, and cursing myself for leaving the knee pads I normally carry with me at home! Most of my time that morning was spent kneeling on brick or asphalt. πŸ˜€

  5. Hi,

    my name is Terence and I posted this week’s photo challenge. I would like to put together a gallery of (some of) the submissions and wanted to ask your for permission to include your shot! If so, could you send me a link or the file?

    Best,
    Terence

Comments and thoughtful critiques are always welcome.

