Weekly Photo Challenge, Create.

“You don’t take a photograph, you make it.”

– Ansel Adams

All the photos below were made, “created” if you will, not simply taken.

To me, taken implies I just showed up and happened to be pointing my camera in the right direction at the right time. Made however, conveys the effort that went into the creation of the photograph. From choosing the subject and composition, to the willingness to be on location at 3 in the morning or kneel in an icy mountain stream, all to capture the image you have envisioned.

Moments before sunrise from just below the summit of Mt. Washington, NH

As the sun peaks above the horizon, it sets the sky on fire. Mt Washington, NH

A foggy sunrise over New Hampshire’s granite coast. Rye, NH.

Early light over the salt marsh at Odiorne Point, Rye, NH (9 image pano)

My suggestion to you is to get out there and create!

34 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge, Create.

  1. Cool images and nice effect! When you mentioned of “right time”, I could imagine, It must have not been easy especially waking up early before sunrise. Getting the gears and equipment ready. For me, I’ll probably have to drag myself out of bed. Yet I can see that it is very rewarding. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. I have never doubted that your images were ‘made’ rather than taken, and that is the basic difference between you and I 🙂 Something about the last one appeals to me very much more than the others, although they are far more dramatic!

    • Thanks Madhu, I’m glad my efforts show.

      To me that last one is just so peaceful. Nothing overly dramatic other than the great light I was fortunate enough to capture. Just the calm peace of the sun waking up the landscape. Being there was even better the the picture 😉

  3. These are outstanding creations and I admire all the effort and dedication put into making them. I have a slightly different atitude towards photography 🙂 and I am happy to disagree with you. Nevertheless, I admire and enjoy your products!

  4. P.S. some of my not that successful shots were created (and you know that) such as a messy suitcase and book post :P, but in nature I am so enchanted with what it has to give at a certain moment that I shoot it as it is and dont go chasing sunrises – this is my big argument and justification for not stepping out of my comfort zone ;P

    • Ahh, but you are not running around, willy-nilly, mindlessly pointing and clicking. My willingness to forego sleep until I’m dead 😉 is a small, probably the smallest, part of creating a photo. I see it in your photos, even if you don’t, that there was thought put into them. Either that, or you are the luckiest person alive to come away with as many nice photos as you do by just blindly clicking away 😀

      • You are just mellowing me 😉 :D. Ok, I will admit that some of them can actually come out as some sort of creations, but I will never do what you do, and that is OK. There is only one JAS around 😉

        • Nor should you try. There are all levels of creating photographs. Not everyone needs to go crazy nuts into their hobbies like I do. 😛 You are still creating, just not taking it to the obsessive level of yours truly.

          FYI, since I was named after my father, you are only partially right on that last part 😉

Comments and thoughtful critiques are always welcome.

