The New England Photography Guild Blog.

Here is my latest article for the New England Photography Guild. It just goes to show, you don’t need to travel far and wide for your landscape images. All it takes is a little effort on your part to become familiar with your own neighborhood.

The Home Court Advantage, Creating Lanscape Images Close To Home.

Would you like a free matted 5×7 print of a fabulous New England scene? Subscribe to the NEPG blog and you are automatically entered into the monthly drawing to win an image from the artist of the month. FYI, I believe I’m the artist of the month for August.

“New England Photographers Know New England”

19 thoughts on “The New England Photography Guild Blog.

  1. Beautiful photos and fantastic article. That’s why I love my GPS so much. We live in a rural area, and my hubby and I love to pick little unknown back roads/goat paths and just drive (usually no longer than 20 or 30 minutes). We always find something new, and it doesn’t matter if we get lost because we can just tell the GPS to take us home. 🙂

    • Thanks Jude. I wanted to include an image in the re-blog of my latest NEPG article. Something not it the article itself. Unfortunately, it does not fall into the “30 minute rule” I mentioned in the article. Oops!

      I should be so lucky to have a waterfall this nice within 30 minutes of my house.

  2. Want to make sure I acknowledge your work here as well.
    Terrific article and images. I’ve turned off main roads around Spokane and have been surprised with what I find. One landscape image was a gallery winner at the Nature Photography Network.

    So yes, explore your own background!

    • Right you are Rick. It is so easy to take our home turf for granted, driving right by some really nice scenery on the way to further, and often photographed to death, locales.

    • Thank you very much. I should have put a little more thought into the image I added to the post mentioning my article. As I mentioned to Jude, that waterfall, while still being in New Hampshire, falls well outside my “30 minute rule” mentioned.

  3. If we become more observant of our surroundings we can see beauty everywhere,
    Isn’t that what a true photography is???? Someone able to see beauty in all things.
    Congrats on a job well done and on your publishing.
    Greetings,
    Isadora

  4. was trying to comment here via my smart phone the other day. somehow it wasn’t so smart, and it would not let me do so very easily. i managed to get the ‘like’ button activated 🙂
     
    so here i am today. enjoyed the article, and agree fully. beauty is not restricted to other places, and is indeed sometimes just around the corner. thanks for the great tip! and of course for sharing your beautiful images that are proof of the pudding.

    • Thank you so much. Living in a state with great mountains to the north, and the seacoast to the east, both relatively short drives away, I’ve been guilty of overlooking what is right in front of me.

    • Not as easy as you might think Paula, I tend to look past what’s right in front of me. It’s so easy to think you need that picture perfect setting to make a compelling photograph. I’ll bet, if you really put your mind to it, there is an amazing photograph, waiting for you to make it, within 10-15 minutes of your house.

      • I know for a fact that you are surrounded by an amazing nature and I also know that you get up in the dark to find locations and shoot most amazing frames which is not likely to happen in my life, but I also hope that some day I will find something amazing within 15 minutes reach 😉

Comments and thoughtful critiques are always welcome.

