Doing The Happy Dance

Time to gloat.

Sorry, I can’t help it. For those of my blog followers not following me on Facebook as well, (we’ll get to the why on THAT in the future :-)), I just had to share this. I have just received what I consider a glowing critique of one of my favorite photographs from one of my favorite photographers. Recently, Jerry Monkman, who writes regularly for Outdoor Photographer magazine, and others, and has many books to his credit, featured this photo, “First Light On The Auto Road,” for the image critique for the Week 5 Composition – Perspective, Depth, and Scale assignment. To have someone at his level in the “photography game” take notice and have, what I consider at least, nothing but good things to say about one of my photographs…

Well, I gotta go, cause it’s time for more Happy Dance! šŸ˜€

Thank Jerry!

Pink and blue sunrise over the Mt. Washington auto road

FYI, following one of Jerry’s suggestions in his critique I brightened the road just a touch with the adjustment brush in Lightroom 3.

35 thoughts on “Doing The Happy Dance

    • Thank you. I have a 16″ x 24″ print on metallic paper, custom framed in a black gallery style frame with white matte, with your name written all over it. I’ll give you a hell of a deal. The shipping would kill you though I’m sure. šŸ˜€

      Not sure how it took me this long, but I just found your photo blog. I love your aerial photos, that must be awesome to get up there for those!

  1. Wow, you are so totally famous and you deserve to do the happy dance!!! That is an absolutely stunning photo, but then your photos usually are :). I am so glad that you got the recognition you deserve, and I’m sure there will be more to follow!!

        • You and me both. Although I do have mixed feelings about it. I absolutely love spending time outdoors making photographs, but having to create new work to keep a roof ove my head might make it a little les fun. I need to become a marketing machine like Peter Lik and sell a single image for a million bucks. That would certainly take the pressure off wouldn’t it šŸ˜‰

    • Thanks Karina. When I got the email from Jerry asking if it would be ok to use my photo for the critique I didn’t hesitate for a second. Even before I knew how much he liked it I was all in. My thinking was, good or bad, it can only help me grow as a photographer to have someone at his level pick apart one of my photos. I have very thick skin when it comes to my photographs and I told him flat out, “don’t pull any punches.”

      I can’t lie though, the critique he gave was pretty darn awesome!! šŸ˜€ I’ll take that kind of praise and publicity any time.

    • Oh I did! When I saw what was happening to the sky that morning I was so excited. It made leaving my house at midnight o be there for the 3:30 a.m. opening of the road. Can’t wait for this summer to see what I can come away with.

    • Thank you Laura. I can’t wait to go back again this summer. Even without a camera, witnessing sunrise from the summit of Mt. Washington is something I highly recommend. If you are going to get your “This Car Climbed Mt. Washington” bumper sticker, you might as well get to see a beautiful sunrise from the “Home of the worst weather in the world.”

    • I actually have two versions, both based on my actual signature. One is the watermark you see on all the images here on the blog, the other is much smaller and is applied to any prints ordered through my website.

      I will try to help as best I can. It is actually pretty easy, but since I no longer have CS2, and my Elements 10 trial ran out( I use Lightroom 3 and Nik plug-ins for pretty much all of my post processing), I won’t be able to give you the exact step by step.
      The first thing I did when I had CS2, was practice my signature on a piece of paper with a sharpie. Then I scanned it into the computer. Once there I was able to create a custom brush, I don’t remember the exact steps (big help huh?). I could change the color to what ever color I wanted, set the size, and then apply it to the image where I wanted it. I did the same thing in Elements. I think I used the “smart selection” tool, but don’t really remember. I also made a larger version and used the text tool to add http://www.jeffsinon.com right under it for the watermark I use on all my shared photos.

      I hope this helps. I wish I could remember the exact steps, but it was quite a while ago that I did it, and I haven’t had to do it again.

      Let me know if you have any other questions.

    • You should have been there! šŸ™‚

      You can’t tell from the photo, but the wind was crazy, though not as crazy as it gets up there. The world record wind speed, recently broken by Typhoon Olivia, of 231mph was recorded on Mt. Washington. But as soon as I saw what was happening in the sky, I forgot how windy it was and how cold I was.

      I can’t wait to do it again this summer!

Comments and thoughtful critiques are always welcome.

