Weekly Photo Challenge: Through

The road through the forest.

I’ve never been down this road past this point…

Chocorua Lake Road

…because when I get here and look right, I see this.

Through the mystery hole.

I could spend hours photographing the contents of my favorite Jefferson, NH abandoned barn. Unfortunately, unwilling to trespass, I’m limited to the view through the windows.

Antiques in a barn

Or, as is the case with “Horse Nails” above, through the “mystery hole.” The small square hole between the two windows on the side of the barn below. I would love to know what the hole could have been used for, so if any of you “barnologists” out there have any ideas, please let me know.

37 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Through

    • Thank you. We had such a poor “foliage season” this year I was lucky to get these. I really feel sorry for all the tourists I came across that came to New Hampshire specifically for the foliage, New England in general for that matter.

      • I was just talking to my cousin yesterday about wanting to take a fall foliage cruise with my husband. Being from Wyoming we get green, yellow then brown for the majority of our fall colors. If that’s a poor year for you, then all I can say is wow.

        • I admit to being somewhat spoiled, and having a higher standard, having lived in New England my whole life. For someone who has never seen a real New England fall, this would still have been a pretty good year. Albeit a short one. It seemed like we went from full color to stick season in about a week and a half. Not anywhere near the amount of reds and oranges we normally get.

  1. Wonderful series and as always, great application of the concept. That first one looks like fireworks in the trees. Your area in the fall is another item on my must go see list. It’s good to know that I’m not the only one who “peeps” the camera through holes to capture abandoned stuff inside. There is a building on the edge of the city that is chock-full of vintage motorbikes. It kills me that I can’t get inside.

  2. Stunners again, Jeff. Just gorgeous. Wow!

    I will be thinking of you today as I make pilgrimages to B&H Photo and Central Park in NYC. That’s the goal as of this moment, anyway… Today I go where my mood and my cameras take me. Hopefully there will be a new (used) wide angle lens in my future, too! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Lucky you! Adorama is my camera store drug of choice, but B&H is a close second. I’m going to be in the market for a new wide angle as well. I can’t make up my mind if I want a Canon 10-22, the Tokina 11-16 or 12-24, or the Sigma 8-16. That last one is really screaming my name though. Even on my 40D, 8mm is W I D E! I already have ideas for images ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Jeff – these a terriffic. Each one has a differen look for the challenge. What fun !!!!
    The first one reminds me of a photo you’d see on the page of a calendar representing fall. The second one reminds me of a scene in a movie set in Bali. The third one is a fun place for me to find metal for creating fabulous sculptures. The fourth one reminds me that there is no place like home.
    Great ..
    Isadora

    • Thanks, me too. I’m so glad they stayed with a rustic look when the rails were redone a year or so ago. They sure wouldn’t be in the photo if they went with a modern steel guardrail.

  4. Wonderful photos! I’m no barnologist but both sets of my grandparents were dairy farmers. The mystery hole reminds me of the holes that the milk hoses came out of.

    • Thank you very much!

      That’s as good a guess as any. Someone else mentioned it possibly being for chickens, but after looking through my other photos of the interior, the barn doesn’t look like it was ever set op for them.

      We may never know ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I’m not one to trespass either, but I’d have a hard time staying out of that barn! What interesting things inside to photograph. Any chance you can find the owners & get permission?

    • Yea, I’m a little too old to start getting arrested for that kind of thing ๐Ÿ˜‰

      I haven’t researched the owners, if I lived closer I most certainly would though. I’m dying to get inside!

      • And sometimes I think that I’m a little too old to care! ๐Ÿ™‚ Or foolish enough to think that I could talk myself out of it. However, I don’t think that I’d actually have the nevre to do it if the opportunity presented iteself!

Comments and thoughtful critiques are always welcome.

