Empty Handed

I went out this past Sunday with Tim, Kris, and Jason, a few fellow photographers from the Flickr NH Group. The destination was going to be the new Sweet Trail in Durham, NH. I say “was going to be,” because the parking area at the Newmarket, NH end of the trail hadn’t been plowed after the recent snow storm. So, with Adam’s Point just a short drive down Durham Point Rd, we went with an improvised Plan B. Plan B didn’t work out any better, photographically speaking that is.

Although I will go on a shooting outing with a specific destination in mind, if I go alone I always let my wife know where I’ll be, I usually don’t have  more than a general shooting plan in mind once I get there. The reason for this is two-fold. First, it avoids disappointment should I come home empty-handed, without having achieved my “goal.” And second, I am less likely to miss a photographic opportunity because I am too focused on finding what I sent my mind on photographing. Not having these self-imposed limits allows me to just go where ever the day takes me. This come what may, take it as it comes attitude to my shooting trips can result in not pressing the shutter button at all. I have gone out for hours and just not “felt it.” Maybe nothing caught my eye, the sky just wasn’t dramatic enough, whatever the reason, I don’t feel the need to take a picture just to exercise  my right index finger. This was the case on this trip. I tried a few things, experimented with a few compositions, but in the end, I don’t feel I captured anything worthwhile. Yes even I, camera genius extraordinaire, came up empty-handed. It happens to the best of us.

It was still a great winter morning to be out in nature, and if I didn’t capture that award wining image, I won’t be deterred, there is always next time.

Comments and thoughtful critiques are always welcome.

