Weekly Photo Challenge: Happy

 Happy is…

Hiking to the summit of a small mountain for the first time, in the dark, and watching this view unfold as the sun comes up. Makes me forget just how early 3:30 a.m. is.

From the summit of Foss Mountain looking north towrds the White Mountains. The summit of Mt. Washington, shrouded in clouds, can be seen in the distance. The eastern facing slopes of the mountains in the distance glow with the first rays of the rising sun.

To top it off, I ran into a group of young men at the summit who happened to be from my hometown in Connecticut. What are the odds?

Happy is…

Driving down from the above mountain, and seeing this view. If this doesn’t say “Autumn in New England,” nothing does.

As the mist settle on the pond, a small white church sits nestled in the beautifully colored autumn foliage on the far shore. To the right in the image, also partially hidden in the trees, is a white farm house along side a bright red barn. Shot in Eaton, NH.

Since it was quite dark, and I was paying more attention to the directions to the mountain, I never noticed this church, which the road went right by. So this was a very pleasant surprise on my return trip.

Happy is…

Successfully, I think, using subject motion, reflections, and camera motion during exposure, to create abstract images showing the fall color in a less conventional way.

The fall folirage is reflected as an abstract red, yellow, and orange glow on the fast flowing water of the Swift River in Albany, NH.    

 Ecstatic is…

The one image that made the entire day for me.

This fine gentleman caused quite a stir along Rt 302 in Crawford Notch. Traffic came to a stand still as crowds gathered to get a photo. Seemingly unfazed  by all the fuss, this bull moose started walking directly towards me to cross the road. Obviously, I was standing in the best spot for a moose to cross the road, and he had every intention of using it. I graciously stepped aside as he passed by close enough for me to touch.

38 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Happy

    • Thank you Valentina! I’m talking with a local dentist who is in the process of building her new office. It is going to be very modern, and she wants modern, nature themed art for the walls. So I set out to create something to show her. The fact you like them gives me confidence these will be something she will like.

      • Your three photos are perfect for a modern style décor, she will like them.
        BTW, tell her you are in contact with an Italian designer (me) who offers designs consultations on-line, other than the traditional face-to-face. You never know, opportunities are out there.

          • Jeff, you are very kind. ☺ We are able to do business today that wasn’t possible even 10 years ago. I will place those pictures I like on my FB fan page, as I do show art from people in my circle.

            • Valentina, you are so right! Though the idea of a designer of your standing all the way across the country, interested in sharing my photographs is stil a source of amazement to me. Not 10 years ago, not today. You have no idea how much I appreciate that you are willing to do such a thing. I am forever grateful!

        • I forgot to add, it is because you are a designer that your opinion meant so much. The abstracts are not something I’ve ever set out to do before, though I have made several, so hearing that someone like you thinks they came out well is great to hear.

          Thank you again. :-)

    • Thanks Cindy. I’ve been meaning to try some if the techniques I used to create these for a long time, decided that after photographing sunrise on Sunday, I was only going to look for abstracts to photograph.

      Except for the moose of course, there’s nothing abstract about that big boy :-D

    • Thank you Paula. I really couldn’t have asked for a better day. I was out with a friend, and after her and I met just after sunrise, we spent the day wandering the north country in search of photos. Can’t think of a better way to spend the day.

    • Mine too, followed closely by winter. The landscape is so much more dramatic when clothed in vibrant color or covered in fresh snow.

    • It really was. I love being in the presence of wildlife in their natural surroundings. It leaves me with a sense of awe when a wild animal is willing to allow me to be so close and photograph it.

    • Thanks Gary, I have several more I’m still working on, all with birch trees. There’s something about the way their stark white stands out against almost any background that gets me every time.

  1. I appreciate when people venture away from the conventional. Your three “abstracts” are very successful at that. Just enough blue and just enough sharpness to make them very pleasant visually. Well done :)

  2. That one with the church in the background: peaceful and comforting. That one with the moose (the first one): breathtaking! I loved them all, but I have to say the first two are ones I’d hang on my living room wall. You are truly blessed to live in that area!

    • Thank you! I couldn’t imagine living anywhere else. Four seasons, Autumn foliage people pay big money to come see from all over the world, what’s not to like!

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Big « jeff sinon photography

    • Thank you. There is a lot to be said for good light, and the willingness to pursue it. It is amazing how fast it can come and go, and you sure won’t see it while you’re sleeping in. :-)

    • Thank you very much! It was a very good day for me, but the moose, for me at least, would have been enough if it was the only thing I photographed that day. :-D

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: An Unusual Point Of View | Jeff Sinon Photography - Nature Through The Lens

Comments and thoughtful critiques are always welcome.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,838 other followers

