All Work And No Play…

…means I’ve been WAY too busy to get out with my camera!

I have been a busy, busy boy the last few weeks, and that has left me with little time behind the lens. I think I’m going into withdrawals. I’m not complaining, but I do need a day out with my camera, and soon!

“Do you take photographs for people?”

It all started last October as I made one of my first attempts at selling my photographs at a local craft fair. “Do you take photographs for people?” the woman asked as she was admiring my photos. Standing there with her young son, the first thought that came to mind was that she wanted me to photograph her and her family. Those who know me, know that I go to great lengths to keep people OUT of my photographs, so I almost blurted out a resounding “No!” Instead I decided to hear her out. I’m glad I did!

Up until this point, my craft fair experience had been less than stellar from a purely sales standpoint. But richly rewarding in the numbers of positive comments on my photographs. It was however about to get vastly better.

“My husband is a dentist,” she tells me, “we are opening a new practice and would like to decorate it with a Dover, NH theme. All photographs made in and about Dover. Would you be interested in a project like that?” I’m not quite sure I’ve ever said yes to anything in my life as fast as I said yes to this.

There are a lot of nice scenic areas in Dover, as well as a lot of historical buildings. I’ve been meaning to photograph most of these on my own, to add a little diversity to my portfolio, but never seemed to make the time. Now I was on a mission, I had a reason to stop putting it off.

8, 10…28!

Initially, 8 images, all taken within the city of Dover were chosen, all 16″ x 24″(about 41cm x 61cm) prints in matching frames, with room left for more in the near future. Since the project started so late in the year, I only had autumn and winter photos, so we agreed I needed  to get some nice spring and summer photographs to round out the collection.

Basically though, I thought I was done for a while after delivering the first 8 signed and custom framed pieces. You can check out two of the images, nicely framed by Rebecca at RSP Studio, here.

Not so fast!

On a friday in mid May I was contacted by the company that actually built the new building to see if I had any images that would be suitable for them to give as gifts to the doctor and his wife at the grand opening. “Not within the Dover theme, but I do have two they expressed interest in for their personal offices in the building.” They purchased both, same size, matte, frame, everything. Sweet, 10 large prints sold! My largest single sale to date!

Here are the two for their offices,

Two days later, I get an email “My interior decorator and I have been looking through your website, we love your work, we want more, 18 more! But, there’s a catch.” There’s always a catch right? “We need them by our June 1st grand opening.” Yikes!

Fortunately, these additional images were not to be in the “Dover theme,” but photos selected from my website. Which was good, there was no way I could come up with 18 more images of the town in such a short time!

So, to make a long story just a bit longer, I’ve pretty much spent the last three weeks getting prints ready, making sure the framing is on schedule, and trying not to freak out because the deadline is getting closer  and closer, all the while my camera sits collecting dust.

Finally, the images were hung in plenty of time for their private open house. The guests seemed to really like them, and I enjoyed answering their questions, as a lot of people who live in Dover don’t know their town as well as they thought, and couldn’t believe there were so many nice places in their own town.

I have to thank Dr. Josh Howard and his wife Lydia, without their willingness to take a chance on an unknown, “auto mechanic with a camera” this recent success would not have been possible.

Hopefully, I can make someones next root canal just a little more pleasurable ;-)  

Here’s a bonus question for you.

Can anyone tell me who the person captured on the television in the background of the first image is? Without his tireless efforts, our National Park system might not be what it is today.

Hint 1, I just finished watching Ken Burns, “The National Parks, Americas Best Idea” on Netflix.

Hint 2, The answer can be found on the Jeff Sinon Photography fan page. (no need to become a fan, but it wouldn’t hurt my feelings either ;-) )

16 thoughts on “All Work And No Play…

    • Thanks Karina, I hope so too. I never used to think I’d like to do this for a living, thought the pressure to produce new work would take the fun out of it, but I’m beginning to think a little differently now ;-)

    • Thanks Brandon, you should see them all hanging in the dental office. If that doesn’t make someones next dental procedure a little less painful, I don’t now what will ;-)

  1. :) I don’t know why I as a follower wasn’t informed about this post…. So, when are you going to take pics of those historic buildings? I would really like to see them.

  2. I’ve just hit the Howard Dental Office button. I was hoping for some peek into JS gallery, but they haven’t shown it :(. Have they promised you a discount on your future dental work?

    • Darn, that reminds me, I took a bunch of picks of my pics for a blog post. Something to write about this evening ;-)

      i’m hoping once I give the owners the photos I took of my photos they will put them on their FB page :-D

      • … a bunch of picks of your pics… NOW I need my second cup of coffee – you lost me completely Jeff. … Bl00dy FB…can’t anything be done without a mention/display/ post there – grrrrrrrrr

Comments and thoughtful critiques are always welcome.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,675 other followers

